- And Here's......

And Here's......

Introduce yourself or read introductions from others!

And Here's......

Postby ediebee » Fri Apr 21, 2006 4:14 am

Hello everyone, I'm ediebee and an alcoholic. I stumbled across your site as I was looking for some forms or worksheets in order to "work" the steps. I am SO glad I found you!

Essentials: 46 yo single mom w/2 boys (13 & 10). Formerly self-employed as a childcare provider, now am working as a caregiver to mostly senior adults. I've lived in Seattle since 1988, but my origins are from the Southeast. Was sober from 1990 until July 2005 when I had a relapse. Have been sober since July 15, 2005.

I'm new to the program of AA - started mid January of this year as a New Year's resolution of getting onto a path of spirituality. My priest recommended going through the steps through AA as a means to begin my trek. It's thus far been an incredible journey.

Though I go to meeting at least once a week, and have gone to several different groups, I have yet to find a sponsor. I am impatient. However, I realize finding the "right person" is also important. So, each night I put it in God's hands my situation. I am certain my sponsor will be in my life before I know it, and I shall rejoice when that day comes.

I am on Step Four and am going through it with my priest ("We found it very desirable to take this spiritual step with an understanding person, such as our wife, best friend, or spiritual advisor." Alcoholics Anonymous, page 63.

I thought I would go through the 4th step effortlessly like the once upon a time school girl I once was, but the inner self saw the task ahead and froze up my zeal as readily as an ice storm. GAWD, what an undertaking!!! I'm still on resentments, and have gone through 5 worksheets already as I plow through my anger explanation. Clearly my old habit of "cramming" cannot be applied to life, however much I fantasize that such a strategy can still be used. :!: