- My first day... again

My first day... again

Introduce yourself or read introductions from others!

My first day... again

Postby c0rnfl8kgrl » Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:44 pm

Hello. My name is Aja and I'm an alcoholic. I am new to this whole AA thing. Over the last two months or so that I have been trying to stay sober I have had many "first days", today being another one. I question wether or not I'm really an alcoholic, if it is really unmanagable. Then I go to a meeting and hear stories and feelings similar to mine. But I'm stubborn and I like to drink. So I think I can handle just drinking socially, but once I start and I'm feeling really good, I don't know when to quit. And now that it has been pointed out to me that I truely am sick, that this is a disease over which I am powerless on my own, the guilt that comes with each first day is crippling. I do not have a sponsor and have not started the 12 steps. I thought just going to the meetings was all there was to it. Boy was I wrong. So this is me... hungover in Fort Myers, FL and desperately needing a sponsor and some help because I'm sick and tired of being sick and tired.

On a more positive note, I love how happy and supportive and glad to see me all the people in AA are! It is truely inspirational and it's because of their examples that I want to do this right and have what they have.

Anyway, enough about me. Thanks for letting me share.
Last edited by c0rnfl8kgrl on Sun Jul 09, 2006 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
c0rnfl8kgrl

Welcome!

Postby Dallas » Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:08 pm

Hey Cornflake :lol: Welcome!!! :wink:

Nice to see you on my screen this morning! I'll bet the weather is perfect down in Ft. Meyers!... That's where I should be.

Keep coming back!

Dallas
Dallas
Site Admin

Postby c0rnfl8kgrl » Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:54 pm

Thanks for welcome, Dallas. It is much appreciated.