- Hi All, I'm New to AA

Hi All, I'm New to AA

Introduce yourself or read introductions from others!

Hi All, I'm New to AA

Postby Fia » Sat Apr 14, 2007 3:48 pm

Hi everyone, my name's Fia and I'm an alcoholic.

I'm joining ya'll from the UK (Cumbria) where I've lived for the last two years. I'm still quite young (I'll be 22 next month) though I've known I was an alcoholic since 17 years old...unfortunately, I found out the hard way that there's a big difference between 'knowing' and 'accepting'. I couldn't accept myself as an alcoholic back then, and so the thought that I was "too young to have a drinking problem" kept me drinking for the last five years, despite numerous attempts to stop on my own. (And yes, I tried many of the methods that you're no doubt all familiar with hearing or trying yourselves...moving house, drinking at different times, moderating, changing drinks, changing jobs, friends etc...the list goes on).