- Sandra, Alcoholic from Hamburg, Germany

Sandra, Alcoholic from Hamburg, Germany

Introduce yourself or read introductions from others!

Sandra, Alcoholic from Hamburg, Germany

Postby SandraHH » Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:58 am

Hi everybody,

I am Sandra, I am alcoholic, a sober member of AA, and very happy to read all your messages here living a sober and joyful life.

I am 36 years old, married. My AA homegroup is in Hamburg, Germany - so I am not a native speaker and some of my posts and comments might be a little funny ;-) and actually its my first time in such a forum and I don't know what to post *argh* trying to be perfect and "right" again.... same old story!

ok, here is some of my story: Grew up on the German countryside, started drinking when I was twelve - felt good from the first sip, because it filled this hole inside of me. Felt strong and right - and I felt as if I could relate to other people, first time in my life! Well. twenty years later, I couldn't relate to anybody anymore - i was alone, afraid and I had no clue what to do with my life despite drinking. I couldn't move on like that. so I tried AA ...
and I felt like home !!!

Today, nearly four years later my life was changed completly by my HP.
I found love, peace, freedom - and I believe in my Higher Power. This is the best thing that ever happened to me, and I am so happy to be part of this community, to be part of the wonder!

thanks for letting me share,
Sandra

SandraHH

Postby garden variety » Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:01 pm

Hi Sandra,

Glad to see you here and welcome. I got folks in Honaker Germany - my grandparents came from there. It's great that we have this "common problem" and "common solution" because we all speak a language we can understand.

What a blessing!

Welcome again,
Paul
garden variety

Postby carol1017 » Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:10 pm

Welcome, Sandra!

My father was born in Bergedorf -- small world!

We all speak the "language of the heart", so we will always understand.

Welcome!