- complacent in recovery

complacent in recovery

Help for alcohol abuse addiction alcoholics who want to stay sober

complacent in recovery

Postby dsbfaith » Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:49 pm

I have been sober for 21 years,and I am fimding it hard to be involved.I have cut down on meetings,I rarely call my sponsor. But she is there when I call actually she has been able to stay connected. I work in the field of addictions and and I quess I am forgetting to care for myself. Please give me some encouragement to become connected again. :
dsbfaith

Postby sunlight » Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:12 am

Hi dsbfaith,

I'm Sunlight & I'm an alcoholic.

When I joined this forum I was in a slump in my sobriety. You can read about it in the Introductions topic. I learned others were in the same rut & how they got out of it. Also, that it's dangerous to be there! Not just to my sobriety, but to my sanity, spiritual status & enjoyment of life.

I started reading the posts in this forum. There is so much here! This disease we have & all its facets hit me again, hard. And the recovery here & all its beauty got me all charged up again! It made me want to DO something & BE someone who really had something to transmit to others.

Please take a trip through this forum.
For me, it was like being a newcomer again, discovering something new every day & how much other alcoholics have to offer me.

I bet you have a lot to share in meetings being a counselor! I know I'd love to hear your experience, strength & hope.

I'd also love to hear your gardening tips! (I read your profile - I garden too. It's a lot like sobriety to me.)
sunlight

Postby Jools » Sat Nov 15, 2008 8:54 am

Hiya Dsbfaith,

Welcome to the forum. I haven't seen you around so I'm assuming you're new. I'm looking forward to getting to know you.:)