- 1st day of being clean, campral, alts to AA?

1st day of being clean, campral, alts to AA?

Help for alcohol abuse addiction alcoholics who want to stay sober

1st day of being clean, campral, alts to AA?

Postby cogringo » Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:08 pm

Hey there, tomorrow is my 1st day of planned sobriety. Doc is going to give me Campral and Clonezpam to help. I am not over the top but I have been drinking heavy every night for about 18 years. I am not sure AA's concept works for me (not an atheist but have an issue with the whole giving over acceptance for my personal control to God). Any ideas for other support groups in CO Springs area? Suggestions? I don't feel I am out of control completely as I accept I have an issue but I can't keep doing this. My liver will disown me at some point.
Thx
cogringo

Postby GeoffS » Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:13 pm

As a member of AA I can make no comment on your medications, that is between you and your doctor.

I would suggest you stick your head round the door of a few AA meetings and see if you hear anything familiar.

Many of us had problems with god and the notion of control when we first came in.

Re-read step 3. Look for the word CARE.
GeoffS

Postby Ranman99 » Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:14 am

Hey Coringo. All I would add is that about 18 years ago I attended my first AA meeting. Today I am 1 year and about 16 days sober. From this you can gather that I had an issue with control and I won't go into now what it finally took to get me willing but it took a few big two by fours in the noggin. Today I am extremely grateful that the program waited for me 8)
Ranman99

Postby Dallas » Wed Jan 06, 2010 3:42 am

Hello cogringo,
I wish you the best of luck in finding a solution to your problem that you like, that you can agree with, and that you can live with.