- AA Recovery and the Nicotine Dilemma

AA Recovery and the Nicotine Dilemma

Discussions related to 12 Step Recovery and Treatment

AA Recovery and the Nicotine Dilemma

Postby ElectronicDan » Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:27 am

Hello, I'm Dan and I'm an addict and an alcoholic.

I've been in the program sober for 66 days now. I'm still working on the foundation steps of one, two and three.

I am very certain I have done Step 1 for my alcoholism and drug addiction.

But a concern/worry/problem I'm having is my cigarette smoking. I've been smoking maybe half a pack a day on average for the last 7 years. Since I've been in the program and sober, though, it seems my smoking has picked up a bit to a pack a day.

What bugs me is I don't know if I should attempt to quit smoking or not! I've tried and tried again, on my own, to quit and I can't do it. I get my stretches of smoke-free living but I always go back to the smoke. But can I honestly say my life has become unmanageable because of my smoking?

It's so accepted and so intertwined with society and with my way of life and the only way I believe it has interfered with my life is constant "smoke breaks" at work, at home (while typing this), at school, etc. I get "you shouldn't smoke," daily from someone that cares for me, and that makes me feel guilty -- but I need to quit for myself. Quitting for another doesn't work and just mucks things up further. I've been down that road far too many times.

What's going to make me quit for myself? Utter hopelessness that this has become unmanageable-- that I am powerless over nicotine in any form. Right now, I feel the only way I could come to grips with that would have to be something immediately life threatening to me... It's an addiction! Seeing friends and relatives dying of the same exact thing I'm doing hasn't stopped me yet! I can potentially see cancer coming down the road for me if I keep this up, but that's down the road! "I've got time!" my addiction says.