- easier, softer way

easier, softer way

Topics related to AA Meetings - and alcohol addiction recovery

easier, softer way

Postby anniemac » Wed Jun 28, 2006 3:57 pm

The other night at a meeting, a guy there commented on the part of How It Works that says that we tried to find an easier softer way but we could not.

He said that for years, he interpreted that to mean that there was no easy way to do this -- that it's a lot of work and there are no shortcuts.

Then one day he saw a different meaning....that this (the Steps) is so easy and soft, that a way that is easier and softer just does not exist.

I had never thought about this before, and had always assumed his first interpretation was what the statement meant.

What do you all think?
anniemac

Easier softer way

Postby Jaysdad55 » Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:35 pm

I am Jay and I am an alcohclic:I have found that reading the Big Book and going to meetings is the easier softer way.This is my first time in here so if someone will let me know if I am doing it right.
TY Jay
Jaysdad55

Postby eastcoastscott » Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:14 pm

Hi guys,

"an easier softer way"...than what?? I think what is prefaced is the what...doing the steps.

Our stories disclose in a general way what we used to be like, what happened, and what we are like now. If you have decided you want what we have and are willing to go to any length to get it—then you are ready to take certain steps.
At some of these we balked. thought we could find an easier, softer way.

just my interpretation.
eastcoastscott

Postby Dallas » Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:50 pm

Hello Jay!!! Welcome to the site and to the forum!!!

You're doing just great! Thanks for jumping in and letting us know about you and to hear from you!

Dallas
Dallas
Site Admin

Postby Susan » Sun Feb 24, 2008 4:40 am