- Anyone out there Ride?

Anyone out there Ride?

Topics related to AA Meetings - and alcohol addiction recovery

Anyone out there Ride?

Postby Dimples » Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:27 pm

Hi My name is Paula aka Dimples and I'm an alcoholic. I have been drinking hard liquor for 30 years and I'm only 44...I am on my 14th day of sobriety and on my 5th hour of my sober day today. I'm starting this thread because one of my passions is riding. So there is no confussion I am talking about Motorcycles. I dont care if you ride a Harley, Honda, Kawasaki, suzuki, BMW, Indian...whatever. I love cruisin, I love the wind in my face and the freedom I feel when I'm out there. I do not ride my own (good thing too given my history) but I may one day, for now I am a back seat warmer. I'm looking for others who ride and like to attend events and looking for thoughts on how you felt at those events. Anyone who loves to ride and hang with others and who enjoys these events knows all too well what goes on. I dont want to stop going to these events and there are several comin up...So any thoughts out there?
Dimples

Postby anniemac » Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:54 pm

Hi Paula,

I don't ride (picture me as a Big Wuss ~ too afraid to fall off! :shock: ), but I'd bet you're not the only sober biker out there.

I believe it's not in line with this site's policies for me to post a link for you, but if you do a Google search on "sober bikers" I think you'll find some organizations.

I was on the back of a bike once or twice, and I can relate to that feeling of the wind in your hair (and the bugs in your teeth :lol: ), but my fear was greater than my enjoyment. Glad you're not a fraidy-cat like me!
anniemac

Postby anniemac » Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:57 pm

I just saw that you're in Florida ~ many many moons ago I stumbled in to the Boot Hill Saloon in Daytona Beach and spent a night being a biker-chick wannabe. I think I had fun; don't really recall :shock: :oops:
anniemac

Postby Dimples » Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:20 pm